Awards and recognition

Award from Department for the  Empowerment of Differently Abled and Senior Citizens

On behalf of Director-Technical Services, Mrs. Rukmini Krishnaswamy and Spastics Society of Karnataka, Mrs. Ushashree V, Chief Manager, Finance and  Accounts was felicitated by Shri. Siddeshwara N, Director, Directorate for the Empowerment of Differently Abled and Senior Citizens, GOK. This felicitation was a token of appreciation for good collaborative participation with the Govt. office for community services. Mrs. Yamuna, District Disabled Welfare Officer was present at the felicitation.

NCPEDP- Mindtree Helen Keller Award 2021

The National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People has awarded the Spastics Society of Karnataka the prestigious NCPEDP- Mindtree Helen Keller Award 2021 in Category C (Role Model Companies/ NGOs/ Institutions), which is constituted by the National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People (NCPEDP).

The NCPEDP Awards have established themselves as the most distinguished benchmark for rewarding individuals and organizations who have fought to create a barrier-free, non-discriminatory, and inclusive workplace, with a special focus on people with disabilities.

World Cerebral Palsy Day Awards 2019

The World Cerebral Palsy Day Jury has awarded the Spastics Society of Karnataka the World Cerebral Palsy Merit Award 2019 in the Medical / Therapeutic category. With entries from 40 countries, the competition was announced on October 6th, 2019 in Australia. 

Namma Bengalurean of  the Year 2018 award presented to Mrs Rukmini Krishnaswamy, Director

Mrs. Rukmini Krishnaswamy, Director, Spastics Society of Karnataka, was awarded the ‘Namma Bengalurean of the Year 2018’ award on 24th March 2018.  

​The award was given by the Namma Bengaluru Foundation which is founded by Rajya Sabha MP, Shri Rajeev Chandrasekhar. The awardees in different categories were selected from among multiple nominees by a 13-member jury comprising stalwarts from various fields.  The ninth edition of the awards, this year’s theme was ‘Reclaiming Bengaluru’ with the focus being on individuals who have in their own capacity contributed significantly to the overall betterment of Bengaluru.  

 Mrs. Rukmini Krishnaswamy was honored with the coveted Namma Bengalurean of the Year award for her decades of work in the rehabilitation of children with disabilities. In her lifetime, she has been instrumental in helping over 70,000 children and families.



Life Time Achievement Award by the Govt. of Karnataka to Director, Mrs. Rukmini Krishnaswamy


Mukta Vidya National Award from Ministry of Human Resource, Govt. Of India for the best National Institute of Open Schooling Centre in India


Mrs. Vani Prasanna was awarded the Best Parent of PWD from National Trust, Govt. of India


Rotary service award for Excellence among voluntary organizations working for special children in Bangalore

Recipient of the “Excellence Award” from the Rehabilitation Council of India, Govt. of India


Social Innovation Honour for Outstanding Vision and Commitment to Excellence in the field of ICT – Innovation for Community given by NASSCOM Foundation ​


Karnataka State Award